REVIEW: Dr Who 8×02 “Into The Dalek”

into-the-dalek-next-time

Mark Berryman reviews the second episode of the newest Dr Who series


Apologies for taking so long to get this written. I’ve had very mixed feelings regarding the most recent episode of Doctor Who.

“Into the Dalek” sees the new Doctor and Clara miniaturized and sent into a Dalek who is claiming to be “good”, but needs a Doctor to fix him.

To be honest I found the whole episode a little pointless. While Capaldi and Coleman yet again shone together, I couldn’t find much else that I enjoyed. I found myself asking for the first part, how has the Doctor or anyone else not realised that if they “fix” the Dalek it will mean making it it’s usual bloodthirsty self, which of course is exactly what happened.

We’ve been here so many times before, the Doctor having to share his mind or his memories with one of his enemies and yet again proving that his mind is powerful enough to overcome any of his enemies. I will say that I thought the special effects were fantastic, some of the best they’ve produced so far. There were moments that I did enjoy. Clara referring to herself as the Doctor’s “carer” had me in stitches.

Then there is Danny Pink, the new character. I haven’t seen enough of him to make a decision about him. He doesn’t seem annoying or likeable yet, we’ll have to see more of him. I have said before, I’m never a big fan of more than one companion in the TARDIS. I love the chemistry between the Doctor and Clara already and I’m a little worried about that being damaged by another person being on board. Hopefully he’ll be a likeable character though, that would be nice.

I’m very much looking forward to this weeks episode, the first of the series to be written by Mark Gatiss. I do love Mark Gatiss!

I’ll write more about the next episode, the more I wrote about this episode the more horrible about it I became, so I’ll leave it at that! hahaha

Leave a Reply

