TRIBUTE: Bob Hoskins 1942-2014

Mark Berryman pays tribute to Bob Hoskins who passed away today


 

Today, we three members of the Order of Trinity, much like the rest of the world, were utterly shocked and saddened by the passing of actor Bob Hoskins.

It doesn’t matter if you’re a geek or a fan of film in general this loss, as with the losses already this year of Philip Seymour Hoffman and Harold Ramis, is a hard one to swallow.

I remember properly becoming aware of Bob Hoskins through Who Framed Roger Rabbit, a film I only watched again last week. His performance along side his animated co-star is still to this day the benchmark every actor should strive for when acting against someone who isn’t really there. The chemistry was fantastic, I was instantly a fan. As the years have progressed I have been blessed as an avid movie goer to watch this man shine and shine again in every film. Whether he is the vile bad guy in Unleashed or the lovable shoe shop owner in Mermaids he was second to none.

My personal favourite film of his is Mrs Henderson Presents; a beautiful film where he starred alongside one of my other favourite actors, the great Dame Judi Dench. Their chemistry was unlike anything I’ve seen before, they were utterly stunning together. My wife and I are planning on watching it tonight in remembrance of a man, who as long as there are movies will never be forgotten.

So I hope that you will join me in remembering a man who put his heart and soul into movies. A man who shone in a way that few others have every managed to do.

RIP Bob Hoskins, we will never ever forget you.

Leave a Reply

